1 / 5

igus robolink - pick & place in a three-shift operation

igus® GmbH
Manufacturing
Material handling

Spherical balls are inserted automatically into an injection-moulding machine.

Hardware Price: $10,696.34

ROI

6

months

accuracy

0.5

mm

project cost

22,000

GBP

Low-cost pick-and-place robot pays for itself in record time

Medium-sized industrial companies are confronted with high automation pressure. Robotics does not have to be expensive. A pick-and-place robot that paid for itself in record time shows how to get started cost-effectively and at low risk.

Automation with low-cost robotics helps industrial companies increase productivity and achieve consistent product quality. This is demonstrated by an injection molding system for bearing caps at the Cologne-based company igus. Whereas employees used to have to insert the plastic spherical caps into the machine by hand, this task is now performed by robolink - a robotic arm with four degrees of freedom and a reach of 510 millimeters. The arm picks up the calottes with a gripper and places them in the machine, with a repeatability of 0.5 millimeters and at a speed of 0.25 m/s. After overmolding with fiberglass-reinforced plastic and automatic ejection of the component, the process starts again. 250,000 times per year and in three-shift operation.

"With manual monotonous work in industry, there is a risk of employees becoming tired and product quality suffering due to operating errors. With the help of the introduction of low-cost robotics, we have succeeded in relieving employees and further increasing product quality," says Norman Franke, Head of Automation Injection Molding at igus. "In addition, the productivity of the injection molding machine has increased because the system continues to run even when employees are on break."

Low Cost Robotic: Investment pays off after approx. four months

The advance of robots does not have to be expensive. Quite the opposite. In this case, it is so inexpensive that even small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) can experiment with automation and jump on the Industry 4.0 bandwagon. For example, a robolink costs from 2,766 euros - hardly more than a powerful home computer and many times less than comparable robot arms, which cost tens of thousands of euros. The reason for the price is that many components of the robotic arm, such as the gearbox, are not made of metal but of triboplastics. The controller from Commonplace Robotics costs 1,897 euros, and a parallel gripper from Schunk costs around 100 euros. "The bottom line is that investing in such a low-cost robotic solution is low-risk," Franke says. "We achieved the return on investment in about four months."

For industrial companies, the pressure to automate is becoming stronger

According to the online portal Statista, manufacturers sold 381,000 industrial robots worldwide in 2017 - for handling, assembling and processing workpieces. By 2021, this figure is expected to reach 630,000. The benefits of advancing automation are enormous: With their help, industry could generate additional value added of 1.25 trillion euros in 2025, predicts the Federation of German Industries (BDI). Not only because companies will become more productive, but also more flexible and individual. The key words are Industry 4.0 and batch size one.

The problem is that while sectors such as the automotive and aerospace industries are increasingly benefiting from automation and networking, many SMEs are reluctant to do so. Not only for cost reasons. It's also because of the complex interplay of components from different manufacturers - including mechatronics, control systems and software. In addition, acceptance among employees is often low because they fear job losses.

Leading robotics manufacturers united in one kit

Removing these obstacles is one of the goals of RBTX - a marketplace for low-cost robotics that unites manufacturers of robotics components in a construction kit. The electro-mechanical basic framework is formed by robots from igus, among others - including jointed-arm robots, delta robots and Cartesian robots. This basis can be expanded with individual components from various manufacturers, such as grippers, cameras, interactive software, power electronics, motors, sensors and controllers. Customers can put together a robot solution with just a few clicks. Compatibility is guaranteed, explains Franke: "Companies enjoy investment security because we have assembled all the components in various combinations and tested them in detail."

No job loss: employees accept automation

The low-cost robotic solution used in the injection molding machine from igus enjoys acceptance among employees. Because it was clear from the start: The transformation optimizes the production process, but does not lead to job losses. Because employees who previously had to struggle with monotonous tasks took part in a training course. They learned how to operate the robotic arm and even teach it new movement sequences. A three-day training course was all it took. "The control system from Commonplace Robotics was originally educational software and is child's play to operate - without any programming knowledge," Franke emphasizes. "The employees are enthusiastic about the technology because it not only simplifies the work, but also makes it fun."

Low maintenance and quick repairs: robolink ensures cost-effective operation

The automation of the injection molding system was not only cost-effective to purchase, but is also cost-effective to operate. This is because the robolink robot arm is made of tribopolymers, which enable dry running without lubricants. Accordingly, there are no costs for materials and maintenance. And repairs are also comparatively simple. To help technicians help themselves, repair instructions are documented on the Internet. In addition, RBTX offers spare parts supply within 24 hours. Franke: "It has actually never been easier to get into automation."

2 Components

$10,696.34

1 / 5

igus robolink - Pick & Place im 3-Schichtbetrieb

igus® GmbH
Produktion
Handhabung

Kalotten werden voll automatisiert in eine Spritzgussmaschine eingelegt.

Hardware Preis: 10.696,34 $

ROI

6

Monate

Präzision

0,5

mm

Projektkosten

22.000

EUR

Günstiger Pick-and-Place Roboter amortisiert sich in Rekordzeit

Mittelständische Industriebetriebe sehen sich mit hohem Automatisierungsdruck konfrontiert. Dabei muss Robotik gar nicht teuer sein. Wie der kostengünstige und risikoarme Einstieg gelingt, zeigt ein Pick-and-Place Roboter, der sich in Rekordzeit amortisiert hat.

Die Automatisierung mit Low-Cost-Robotic unterstützt Industriebetriebe dabei, die Produktivität zu steigern und konstante Produktqualität zu erreichen. Das beweist eine Spritzgussanlage für Lagerkalotten beim Kölner Unternehmen igus. Mussten Mitarbeiter früher die Kunststoff-Kalotten per Hand in die Maschine einlegen, übernimmt diese Aufgabe heute robolink – ein Roboterarm mit vier Freiheitsgraden und 510 Millimetern Reichweite. Der Arm nimmt die Kalotten mit einem Greifer auf und platziert sie in der Maschine, mit einer Wiederholgenauigkeit von 0,5 Millimetern und einer Geschwindigkeit von 0,25 m/s. Nach der Umspritzung mit glasfaserverstärktem Kunststoff und dem automatischem Auswurf des Bauteils beginnt der Prozess erneut. 250.000 Mal pro Jahr und im Dreischichtbetrieb.

„Bei manuellen monotonen Arbeiten in der Industrie besteht die Gefahr, dass Mitarbeiter ermüden und durch Bedienfehler die Produktqualität leidet. Mit Hilfe der Einführung von Low-Cost-Robotic ist es uns gelungen, Mitarbeiter zu entlasten und die Produktqualität weiter zu steigern", sagt Norman Franke, Leiter der Automatisierung Spritzguss bei igus. „Zudem ist die Produktivität der Spritzgussmaschine gestiegen, da die Anlage auch dann weiterläuft, wenn Mitarbeiter Pause machen."

Low Cost Robotic: Investition amortisiert sich nach ca. vier Monaten

Der Vormarsch der Roboter muss nicht teuer sein. Ganz im Gegenteil. Er ist in diesem Fall so günstig, dass auch kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen (KMU) mit Automatisierung experimentieren und auf den Industrie-4.0-Zug aufspringen können. So kostet ein robolink ab 2.766 Euro – kaum mehr als ein leistungsstarker Heimcomputer und vielfach weniger als vergleichbare Roboterarme, die mit mehreren zehntausend Euro zu Buche schlagen. Der Grund für den Kampfpreis: Viele Komponenten des Roboterarms, etwa das Getriebe, bestehen nicht aus Metall, sondern aus Tribokunststoffen. Die Steuerung von Commonplace Robotics kostet 1.897 Euro, ein Parallelgreifer von Schunk rund 100 Euro. „Unterm Strich ist die Investition in eine solche Low-Cost-Robotic-Lösung risikoarm", sagt Franke. „Wir haben in ca. vier Monaten den Return of Invest erreicht."

Für Industriebetriebe wird der Automatisierungsdruck stärker

2017 haben Hersteller weltweit laut Onlineportal Statista 381.000 Industrieroboter verkauft – für die Handhabung, Montage und Bearbeitung von Werkstücken. 2021 sollen es schon 630.000 sein. Die Vorteile der fortschreitenden Automatisierung sind enorm: Die Industrie könnte mit ihrer Hilfe 2025 eine zusätzliche Wertschöpfung von 1,25 Billionen Euro erzielen, prognostiziert der Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie (BDI). Nicht nur, weil Betriebe produktiver werden, sondern auch flexibler und individueller. Stichwort Industrie 4.0 und Losgröße eins.

Das Problem: Während Wirtschaftszweige wie die Automobilbranche oder die Luft- und Raumfahrt immer mehr von Automatisierung und Vernetzung profitieren, zeigen sich viele KMUs zurückhaltend. Nicht nur aus Kostengründen. Auch wegen des komplexen Zusammenspiels von Komponenten verschiedener Hersteller – darunter Mechatronik, Steuerungen und Software. Hinzu kommt, dass die Akzeptanz bei Mitarbeitern häufig gering ist, weil sie Jobverluste befürchten.

Führende Robotik-Hersteller in einem Baukasten vereint

Diese Hemmnisse zu beseitigen ist eines der Ziele von RBTX – ein Marktplatz für Low-Cost Robotic, der Hersteller von Robotikkomponenten in einem Baukasten vereint. Das elektro mechanische Grundgerüst bilden dabei u.a. Roboter von igus – darunter Gelenkarmroboter, Deltaroboter und kartesische Roboter. Diese Basis lässt sich um Einzelkomponenten verschiedener Hersteller erweitern, etwa Greifer, Kameras, interaktive Software, Leistungselektronik, Motoren, Sensoren und Steuerungen. Kunden stellen sich mit wenigen Klicks eine Roboterlösung zusammen. Kompatibilität sei dabei gewährleistet, erklärt Franke: „Betriebe genießen Investitionssicherheit, weil wir alle Komponenten in verschiedenen Kombinationen zusammengebaut und ausführlich getestet haben."

Kein Jobverlust: Mitarbeiter akzeptieren Automatisierung

Die Low-Cost-Robotic Lösung, die in der Spritzgussmaschine von igus zum Einsatz kommt, genießt bei Mitarbeitern Akzeptanz. Denn von vornherein war klar: Die Transformation optimiert den Produktionsprozess, führt aber nicht zu Jobverlusten. Denn Mitarbeiter, die sich früher mit monotonen Tätigkeiten herumschlagen mussten, haben an einer Fortbildung teilgenommen. Dabei haben sie gelernt, wie sie den Roboterarm bedienen und ihm sogar neue Bewegungsabläufe beibringen. Eine dreitägige Schulung war dafür ausreichend. „Die Steuerung von Commonplace Robotics war ursprünglich eine Bildungssoftware und ist kinderleicht zu bedienen – ohne Programmierkenntnisse", unterstreicht Franke. „Die Mitarbeiter sind von der Technologie begeistert, da sie die Arbeit nicht nur vereinfacht, sondern auch noch Spaß macht."

Wartungsarm und schnell repariert: robolink sorgt für kostengünstigen Betrieb

Die Automatisierung der Spritzgussanlage war nicht nur in der Anschaffung kostengünstig, sondern ist es auch im Betrieb. Denn der Roboterarm robolink besteht aus Tribopolymeren, die einen Trockenlauf ohne Schmiermittel ermöglichen. Entsprechend entfallen Kosten für Material und Wartung. Und auch Reparaturen sind vergleichsweise einfach. Um Technikern Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe zu geben, sind Reparaturanleitungen im Internet dokumentiert. Zudem bietet RBTX eine Ersatzteilversorgung innerhalb von 24 Stunden. Franke: „Es ist tatsächlich nie einfacher gewesen, in die Automatisierung einzusteigen.“

2 Komponenten

10.696,34 $